If so, did his expression influence your feelings in any way? During that very first instant as you looked at the body and the scar you felt shocked – What was it about the truly seeing your body that caused you to feel the way you did? (Folks “understand” what they should be expecting. Nevertheless, what I want to know is – what could it be about the first moment that generates those powerful emotions).

Picture Of Rebecca’s Post Op Mastectomy Scar
A. I think I was worried about whether he would be repulsed. That was my main worry.
I looked in the mirror and saw something quite brutal – A very nasty, purple, rough, irregular slash with black stitches. There was also some bruising and dried blood. It looked grotesquely strange compared to my total, soft other breast since it actually seemed just as it was.
My body appeared as if someone had slashed my breast off! It didn’t matter that I ‘d looked at tons of graphics of mastectomy scars on Google, nothing quite prepares you for seeing your own reality.
I am not in any way squeamish but it was pretty horrific.
Q. Body image is an issue that many people struggle with.
https//:yahoo.com losing a breast influenced the way you are feeling about your femininity? Has it spilled over into other aspects of your life? (Like going to the sand, having intimate relationships, joining / interacting with new people or longtime pals?)
A. I believe that for many women, their breasts are intrinsically linked to their femininity. I think the images we’re fed by the media about what is “regular” plays a large part in this. As I said before, I will be not specially body conscious.
I have a tummy and wobbly thighs. Thankfully I had partners who’ve always said that “real men love real girls”!
I still feel as feminine as I ‘ve ever done and would much rather have lost a breast than an arm. Though I don’t believe all girls would say that. I’ven’t worn a bra for the 3 months post op, as it was overly uneasy under my armpit and around my back. So my one remaining breast continues to be swinging away unfettered!
I’m genuinely unconcerned to be “seen with just one breast.” That said, I’ve adapted my style of tops to be just a little less noticeable when I’ve purchased new stuff. I’d go swimming or on a beach, but would not go topless – as I did not before.
I can’t wear some dresses anymore because they are too low cut. Whilst I actually am ok with only having one boob, the scar still seems very mad and it’s tough to cover.
My intimate relationship hasn’t been changed at all. I’m no more self-conscious these days than I was before. My partner and I are both fairly non judgmental individuals who have tremendous compassion.

I ‘ve a step-child with special needs, so I’m quite used to folks that do not fit into the “norm” carton. It has been a hugely important life event for both of us. But I am pleased to say, that the overwhelming heritage of having cancer, for me, is authorization. I’m brave and I didn’t realize just how much!
Q. What does one believe the most difficult part of the whole experience was / is?
Hearing the word “cancer” is really challenging it’s a lot of connotations. Despite the fact that I was lucky enough to go to a fast track clinic where you find out on the day, you are still sent away for 30 mins following a procedure, while they analyze scans, samples, etc.
Those were the longest 30 mins of my life.
I suppose, it never really leaves you. I have had the most effective result – 96% probability of my being alive in 10 years! I have been so incredibly blessed, but I ‘ll still eternally live with the tension that it might come back. That in and of itself can be a real head-f*ck!
Q. Were you able to take away anything favorable?
A. Yes, that I ‘m much stronger and more courageous than I ever imagined possible. I always imagined I’d fall apart if I ever heard those words. and braver than I ever imagined possible.
Q. Were you able to take away anything favorable?
Having the capability to face your biggest fear head on and curing it is a remarkably empowering experience.
My two biggest fears were, losing my parents and being diagnosed with cancer.
Q. Do you have any words of advice for individuals whose loved ones have breast cancer?